Skip to content

John Rozema Teaching Excellence Award Shortlist

Fourteen teachers from eight Ontario Christian schools are on the shortlist of submissions for the third annual John Rozema Awards for Teacher Excellence. The 2018 awards include a new category for submissions, Excellence in Global Perspective Teaching, sponsored by EduDeo Ministries. With $28,000 in awards, the third annual Rozema Awards will be the largest ever

The 2018 Rozema Awards Committee has shortlisted the following submissions, recognizing each school community’s reputation for giftedness and excellent practice:

Excellence in Global Perspective Teaching

Guido de Brès Christian High School, Hamilton – Laurie Koning

Timothy Christian School, Barrie – Andrew Wilcox and Nicole Strikwerda

Toronto District Christian High School – Rachael Weening

Excellence in the Teaching of Creative and Performing Arts

Hamilton District Christian High School – Jonathan DeVries

Northumberland Christian School, Cobourg – Alison Young

Timothy Christian School, Barrie – Nicole Strikwerda

Excellence in Secondary Teaching

London Christian High School – Corrina Cameron

London Christian High School – Matt Rock

Hamilton District Christian High School – Leon Hordyk

Excellence in Elementary Teaching

Timothy Christian School, Owen Sound – Cara Barwell

Trinity Christian School, Burlington – Audrey McGregor

Group Excellence

Hamilton District Christian High School – Richard Van Egmond and Jared Patus*

*Given the small pool of Christian schools in Ontario, there was only one submission in the Group Excellence category this year. The awards committee evaluates every submission on its merits, and is pleased to confirm the place of the single Group Excellence submission among the top tier of award applications for 2018.

The Christian School Foundation partners with Cardus on The John Rozema Awards for Teacher Excellence. For more information on the awards, please, click here.